And Now For Something Completely Different

Almost exactly one year ago, I published my first travel blog on this site. At the time, I had no idea how well I would be able to keep up with blogging, whether or not I would continue to find inspiration, or even what I was going to write about. All I knew was that I wanted to give blogging a try, see how it went, and continue to write for as long as possible. Every time I came up with a new story idea, I was surprised. Every time I found a moment to clear my thoughts and put them on paper, I was shocked. When I look back over this blog and see that I was actually able to write fairly consistently while travelling for almost half a year, I’m flabbergasted.

And then, as you may or may not have noticed, I fell off the face of the earth. I never forgot about this blog (or its accompanying Instagram) but while staying with friends in the UK and Ireland and moving to Berlin, life got in the way of writing. To top it off, I spilt some beer unknown liquid on my keyboard and it decided to stop working for a while. But now that it’s magically fixed itself (I will never understand technology) and I finally feel settled, I think it’s time to come back to this blog and to continue my travel adventures for any of you still curious to hear about them.

I now write to you as an ex-pat rather than a backpacker. I have an apartment and a writing desk rather than a bumpy bus and a tiny tray table. I dodge junkies on the underground to work rather than explore a new city with stray dogs by my side. I marvel at street art and abandoned buildings more than natural phenomena. I eat far too many döner kebabs and still crave empanadas more than I should. While I certainly miss backpacking (and have quite a few plans to do more in the near future) it’s nice to have a home again, even if just for a little while. This next chapter has been pretty great so far and I have so many stories I can’t wait to share with you all. Tschüss!

Leave a Reply

